Even though, stem cell transplant was started in 1986 in the country, there was no formal organization to co-ordinate between different centers to maintain database or share scientific knowledge. The ISBMT was initially started in 2004 unofficial gathering of clinicians involved in stem cell transplant in India. Over the year it has grown to a robust body with over 50 transplant centers currently.

Co-ordination by Christian Medical College, Vellore

The ISBMT organizes an annual scientific meeting where academic activities including presentation of papers focusing on clinical practice and translational research take a prominent place. This is co-ordinated by Dept of Haematology, Christian Medical College, Vellore.